Discap

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: liability issues
PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 7:57 am 
Discussion Pro

http://news.yahoo.com/woman-contracted- ... ories.html

41 million for a tick bite? Hyzer has no ticks but we get yellow jackets (wasps) big time. Imagine 41 million for a tick, wasp stings could be worth a cool billion.

I know people from around here are cool and won't sue, but what if somebody comes from some sue-happy area like Sue Jersey or Sue York City? Anybody know a way to protect myself and the course? Because it's all my fault that there are snakes and rocks and you might twist your ankle or slip and fall, that's worth a few million.

Post subject: Re: liability issues
PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 9:44 am 
Discussion Pro

I am not a lawyer, but have experience with things like this. The waiver system you have now is good. Make sure people sign even if they do not pay. A sign that says if you do not sign you play at your own risk should help. More signs warning of the dangers and play at your own risk help.

Another thing that helps is to shelter your assets by putting them in trust. If you do not have $41 million you cannot be sued for it. If you do not have much in personal assets then no worries.

Is the course incorporated? That would separate the course from your personal assets. But it would also take responsibility and control of the course out of your hands.

PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 9:54 am 
Discussion Pro

Besides Hyzer, I own a 1999 chrysler minivan, about $5.84 in cash, and a half-eaten raspberry scone. Whomever stubs his toe will not be interested in the scone.

PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 9:57 am 
Discussion Pro

The course is not incorporated. It's legally my residential property. My back yard. And side yard, and other side.

PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 10:33 am 
WTF ??!!!

....and you're having a BBQ for 72 of your friends at the end of the month.